Are they announcing more US tour dates?

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA – NOVEMBER 06: (L-R) Guitarist Ronnie Wood, vocalist Mick Jagger and guitarist Keith Richards of The Rolling Stones perform during a stop on the band’s No Filter Tour at Allegiant Stadium on November 6, 2021 in Las Vegas, Nevada.

UPDATE: They weren’t announcing any more US tour dates (at least not yet).

A new post on the Rolling Stones’ social media accounts may signal that they are announcing new America tour dates. A quick video shows the Stones stage as the band is about to perform, then we see and hear Keith Richards start playing “Street Fighting Man”. Then we hear Mick Jagger’s voice shouting, “Hi, everyone!” as the group gets behind them.

A post after the quick clip reads, “Wednesday April 13 3:00 PM BST / 10:00 AM EST / 7:00 AM PDT.” Considering the time zones – the British summer time zone, as well as the East and the Pacific, it would seem that the Stones are announcing dates on the East and West Coast of the United States.

Sure, they might announce a live recording, or a new album, or whatever. But given that the band seem to have bonded with drummer Steve Jordan, it seems likely that the band will continue to play shows.

Meanwhile, the Stones recently announced the release of El Mocambo 1977, a live album of two legendary 1977 shows. Recorded on March 4 and 5, 1977, the Rolling Stones performed “secret” concerts at the 300-seat venue in Toronto, under the guise of “The Cockroaches”, performing alongside by Canadian rock band April Wine. The oblivious radio contest winners had no idea they were seeing the Rolling Stones…at least on the first night. You can order the 2CD versions or variants of the 4 LP set here.

About the author